BIO100: Biology Concepts (Neuenfeldt)

The US Government's Official Web Portal. Great source for loacting government agencies including The National Center for Infectious Disease, The National Center for Health Statistics, and The national Library of Medicine. Try the A-Z List of Agencies.

One of the major organizations under the federal government health and Human Services Department. Their mission includes health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
Sample Citation:
Pertussis. 2009. Atlanta: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; [accessed 2015 Feb 2]. http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dbmd/diseaseinfo/pertussis_t.htm.

Statistical information about the state of America's health.

Annual report from the National Center for Health Statistics on trends in health statistics.
Sample Citation: Health, United States. 2011. Hyattsville (MD): National Center for Health Statistics; [accessed 2015 Jan 10). http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm.

From the National Institutes of Health (NIH), an online resource of medical information for patients and their families. Site includes images from the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia.
Sample citation:
Dugdale DC, Viyas JT. 2011 Mar 3. Tularemia. Bethesda (MD): U.S. National Library of Medicine; [accessed 2015 Feb 1]. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000856.htm.

Provides alerts on disease outbreaks and provides an interactive global map to show where these outbreaks are occurring. Founded in 2006 by a team of researchers, epidemiologists and software developers at Boston Children's Hospital.

"Leading research to understand, treat, and prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases."
Sample citation: Anthrax: causes. 2007 Sep 4. Bethesda (MD): National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases; [accessed 2015 Jan 11]. http://www3.niaid.nih.gov/healthscience/healthtopics/anthrax/cause.htm.

"NIDCR is the federal government’s lead agency for scientific research on oral, dental and craniofacial health and disease. NIDCR is one of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services."
Sample citation: Periodontal (gum) disease: causes, symptoms, and treatments. 2007 Nov 19. Bethesda (MD): National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research; [accessed 2015 Jan 25]. http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/HealthInformat.

Mission to protect human health and the environment. Includes reports on these topics.
Sample Citation: Draft report of the environment 2003: purer water, drinking water. 2003. Washington (D.C.): Environmental Protection Agency; [accessed 2015 Jan 11]. http://www.epa.gov/Envindicators/roe/html/roeWaterDr.htm.

Protects human health by examining the safety of drugs, vaccines, food, cosmetics, etc. Includes the Bad Bug Book at: www.fda.gov/food/foodborneillnesscontaminants/causesofillnessbadbugbook/default.htm
Sample Citation:
Bad bug book: salmonella. 2012. College Park (MD): U. S. Food and Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition; [accessed 2015 Jan 14]. http://www.fda.gov/Food/FoodSafety/FoodborneIllness/FoodborneIllnessFoodbornePathogensNaturalToxins/BadBugBook/default.htm.

Essential information about causes and prevention of common foodborne bacteria.
Sample Citation: Salmonella questions and answers. 2006 Sep 20. Washington (D.C.): U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety & Inspection Service; [accessed 2015 Jan 14]. http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Fact_Sheets/Salmonella_Questions_&_Answers/index.asp.

"Operates programs in behavioral health, disaese prevention and control, health promotion, community public health...(etc.)" View data and statistics reports and disease reporting segments o the site.

Good website for information on infectious diseases of concern to Maricopa County, AZ.

Under the United Nations, provides leadership on global health matters and assesses health trends internationally. Check out the health topics and data and statistics portions of this site.
Sample Citation: Smallpox. 2009. Geneva: World Health Organization; [accessed 2015 Jan 14]. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/smallpox/en/index.html.

Healthcare books suitable for both patients and healthcare professionals. Try the search feature.
Sample Citation:
Revankar SG, Sobel JD. 2014 Jan. Infectious diseases: fungi: sporotrichosis. In: The Merck manual professional edition. Kenilworth (NJ): Merck & Co.; [accessed 2015 Sep 1]. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional.

Based on 'The Merck Manual,' but written in common language.
Sample Citation: Porter RS. 2007 Feb. Infections: viral infections: yellow fever. In: Merck manual consumer edition. Whitehorse Station (NJ): Merck & Co.; [accessed 2015 Jan 14]. http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home.

Written by faculty at the University of Wisconsin, this is essentially a textbook available completely online.