Gathering background information from a variety of sources can help out in a number of ways:
Encyclopedias are a great source for background information! Here is a sample of titles that are available in the library's physical and online reference collection.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by 
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology by Books and ebooks can be found using One Search, the Library's search tool. Try searching for your topic in the search box.
Books that are available for check out are located on the 2nd floor of the Library. Reference books are located on the first floor by the Reference Desk.
Social and Cultural Anthropology: a Very Short Introduction by Choosing to search a specific eBook database will give you different filtering options that can help you narrow your search. You will also have less unrelated information to sort through.
Formally called "Gale Virtual Reference Library." Ebooks, subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics organized into a variety of subjects including business, education, environment, medicine, mythology, science, and technology. Easy to search. Citations provided.
A vast collection of online books covering a wide range of topics including children’s and adult fiction, non-fiction, biographies, business, computer science, cooking, crafts, education, engineering, humor, law, literature and criticism, law, mathematics, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, self-help, social sciences, sports and games, study aids, language learning, travel, true crime. Citations provided.
Women's Place in the Andes: Engaging Decolonial Feminist Anthropology by 
Massacres: Bioarchaeology and Forensic Anthropology Approaches by 
