LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Home

Start Here!

(Databases covering many subjects)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text magazines, journals, and other resources most of which are peer-reviewed. Wide range of subjects. A great place to start most research projects. Images and videos accompany most topics. Citations provided.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed scholarly journals and magazines related to science, social sciences and humanities. Easy search tools help you find images, videos, news, and books too! Audio files often included. APA and MLA citations provided.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents including video, photos, maps and flags. Some trade publications for workers in various professions. Citations provided.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window While reference and scholarly articles are included, this is a great source for more general interest publications, such as magazines and newspapers. Articles on a wide range of topics and available in audio format. Citations provided.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Formally called "Gale Virtual Reference Library." Ebooks, subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics organized into a variety of subjects including business, education, environment, medicine, mythology, science, and technology. Easy to search. Citations provided.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, and primary source research. While the publication dates tend to be a little older, this is one of the best databases at PC for topics in humanities, literature, and psychology. Some content requires creating a (free) account or logging in with your Google account. Citations provided.
ProQuest Central ⚪ This link opens in a new window

Argument / Debate

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Get an overview of your issue. Read the “Pro” and “Con” positions in Viewpoints to support your research. Many topics are covered. Articles and essays include newspaper and magazine articles, statistics, maps, videos, history and more. Easy to navigate. Citations provided.
Issues & Controversies ⚪ This link opens in a new window Hundreds of topics. “Pro” and “Con” positions are presented. Descriptions, definitions, infographics of relevant statistics, news and histories cover all aspects of most topics. Citations provided.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window International approach to news and current issues from multiple international sources. Includes news, viewpoints, background and country information, videos, statistics, biographies, podcasts, and links to relevant websites. Citations provided.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Up-to-date reports on “hot” topic issues (like gun control and immigration). Definitions and chronologies are clear and easy to understand. Pro/con essays and statistics often are included with the reports.

Arts/Design

Artstor ⚪ This link opens in a new window Nearly one million high quality images related to nearly any topic you can think of. Links to many outside art collections. Create a group of images and download them directly into PowerPoint with full caption information. All content rights-cleared for educational use.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, and primary source research. While the publication dates tend to be a little older, this is one of the best databases at PC for topics in humanities, literature, and psychology. Some content requires creating a (free) account or logging in with your Google account. Citations provided.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Access to a collection of high-quality reference books from Oxford University Press. Includes art, architecture, Mexican history. and religion and music in America.
Vogue This link opens in a new window A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Biography

Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Biographies for over 320,000 people from multiple sources. Audio and video sources included. Citations provided.

Business / Career

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Journals and videos covering all areas of business including management, marketing, information systems, economics and finance. Citations provided.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. Includes case studies, company profiles, and financial reports. Build your own charts for comparison to illustrate growth, trends, etc. by country, industry and company. Great resource for investment research.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window Wide range of business topics including starting a company, operations, management and sales. Easy to search. Good for researching all areas of business. Citations provided.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window Formally Reference USA. Information on businesses, jobs, internships and more. Includes historical business information and expanded White Pages. Includes job and internship postings.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window Information on jobs and careers, job growth, career education and training requirements, salaries, and more. One stop shopping for everything you need to know about a career. Even includes links to job postings! Citations provided.

Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Journal articles related to all forms of broadly defined “communication.” Includes linguistics, social work, race and gender issues, public speaking, film, speech pathology, journalism and much, much more. Citations provided.

Countries / Cultures

Global Road Warrior ⚪ This link opens in a new window Travel guides which include history, culture, embassy, and business information for 175 countries.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window International approach to news and current issues from multiple international sources. Includes news, viewpoints, background and country information, videos, statistics, biographies, podcasts, and links to relevant websites. Citations provided.
African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window A wide-ranging collection on African-American history and culture, including some pro/con viewpoints on historical issues. History of African civilizations, Africans in the Colonial World, the Civil War, Emancipation, and contemporary issues. Citations provided.
American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window Vast collection of history of Native Americans and the Americas, including South and Central America. Biographies, scholarly essays, primary source documents. Citations provided.
Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window History and culture of Latinos living in the US back to the 1490s. Includes Maya, Inca, Aztec histories, the Spanish Conquest. Covers up to contemporary times and issues. Citations provided.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic and minority press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Includes “Ethnic NewsWatch: A History,” which provides access to historical periodicals of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American culture and history from 1959-1989. Many ethnic, religious, and racial minorities are represented. Includes human rights and activism-related articles.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Search the archive of National Geographic Magazine (1888-present) and National Geographic’s People, Animals and the World collection, eBooks and National Geographic History Magazine. Some articles available in audio format.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window Articles and photos illustrating popular culture (art, recreation, politics, music, etc.) through the ages. Citations provided.

Criminal Justice / Law

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Criminal justice, forensic, and law-related journals, including trade publications for professionals working in these fields. Includes dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs, newsletters, podcasts and legal reports. Citations provided.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window News from business, criminal justice and political science categories are featured. Law cases (federal and state), law journals, and business information. International news, mostly regarding business and law. When looking for a specific case, use the Advanced search and change "select a specific content type" to Cases.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac This link opens in a new window Indexes more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Indexes and full text of many legal-related publications. Legal how-to information for everyday users including thousands of legal forms. Extensive information on a vast list of subjects including adoption, patent and copyright, immigration, travel, financial investments, business agreements, prenuptial agreements, labor agreements, bankruptcy, renters’ rights, personal injury, employer responsibility, legal partnerships, marriage, wills, and much more.

Dental

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window Access to journals and articles covering all areas of dental science. Some Spanish language periodicals. Citations provided. .
Lexicomp Online ⚪ This link opens in a new window Dental and medical information including information on drugs, natural products, and a variety of special topics. Visual aids, drug “alerts/interactions,” dosing calculators, and patient education tools provided. Access to other, more specialized, dental databases.
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene This link opens in a new window A monthly, peer reviewed journal for practicing dental hygienists. Archived issues go back to 2003.

eBooks

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Formally called "Gale Virtual Reference Library." Ebooks, subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics organized into a variety of subjects including business, education, environment, medicine, mythology, science, and technology. Easy to search. Citations provided.
eBook Collections (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A vast collection of online books covering a wide range of topics including children’s and adult fiction, non-fiction, biographies, business, computer science, cooking, crafts, education, engineering, humor, law, literature and criticism, law, mathematics, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, self-help, social sciences, sports and games, study aids, language learning, travel, true crime. Citations provided.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Access to a collection of high-quality reference books from Oxford University Press. Includes art, architecture, Mexican history. and religion and music in America.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Over 3 million articles from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotation sources and atlases. Articles are often very short. “Mind Maps” help with topic exploration. Includes video content.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Reference eBooks covering topics in literature, history, science and health, biographies, careers. Several subject-specific encyclopedias included. Citations provided.

Education

ERIC This link opens in a new window Education-related journals, magazines, books, reports, and documents from 1950 to present. Some of the ERIC documents are available in full-text. Limiting to full-text ONLY is an option. Citations provided. ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) indexes educational reports, journals and digests from 1966-present.
Education Full-Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Education-related articles from academic journals, magazines, and professional publications. Includes topics such as lesson planning, special education, and children's literature. Citations provided.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Journals from all areas of education addressing many types of education. Something useful for everyone in an education-related profession. Citations provided.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window The Chronicle of Higher Education is a major source of news and information for all topics related to higher education. Topics include administration, athletics, leadership, curriculum, internships, social issues, technology, tuition, free speech, and more. Sections for faculty, teaching, students, administration, technology, etc. Job listings page included.

Film / Documentaries

Feature Films for Education ⚪ This link opens in a new window Nearly 600 popular title films, including some Academy Award winners. Includes some animation. Firefox browser is recommended. Viewing might not work with Chrome or Edge.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window Over 32,000 videos from multiple producers, including Frontline, HBO, Inside Science, Ken Burns, and BBC. Wide variety of topics, some science and education-related, others are of general interest. Some videos include transcripts.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window Thousands of streaming video, most with educational content and transcripts. More academic-leaning than other PC Library video databases. Worth digging into. Citations provided.
Kanopy ⚪ This link opens in a new window Popular, documentary and education-related films. Set up an account to create a “Watchlist,” post comments, rate and share your movies. A great variety of streaming videos. Something for everyone. Download the Kanopy app from Apple App Store and Google Play Store to play our collection on your phone.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window Nearly 600 PBS documentaries and dramatizations for academic research from NOVA, Nature, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Ken Burns, American Experience, Frontline. Citations provided.
Swank Digital Campus ⚪ This link opens in a new window Streaming classic and popular films. Rediscover your favorites.

History

History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Content from history periodicals including primary sources, photos, maps, videos, and biographies. Works are divided into two main categories: US History and World History. A great place to dig deep into historical topics. Citations provided.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Academic journals, primary sources, biographies, streaming audio and video, and news cover a variety of historical topics, people and places related to US History. Citations provided.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Academic journals, primary sources, biographies, streaming audio and video, and news cover a variety of historical topics, people and places related to World History. Citations provided.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Access to The New York Times from 1851 to the present. Use the TimesMachine to access historical articles. Click on the toolbar on the left-hand side, select "More," and then click on "Tools & Services." Scroll to the bottom to find the TimesMachine.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access historical newspapers from virtually every corner of the U.S. from as far back as the early 1800s. Find primary source documentation covering all aspects of American culture including the Civil War, African-American culture and history, the Antebellum Era, national and local elections, and much more.
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Access the Times of London newspaper from 1785 to 2012. Research all aspects of history and culture from a British point of view. Citations provided.
Black Freedom Struggle in the US ⚪ This link opens in a new window Primary source documents from several time periods in American history, including Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932). The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
Slavery and Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window Search for a specific topic, browse images, read historic books and newspapers, or dig into specific collections related to all aspects of slavery including abolition, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slave system, emancipation in the U.S., Latin American, the Caribbean and other parts of the world. Citations provided.
Indigenous Peoples of North America ⚪ This link opens in a new window View documents, photographs, letters, newspaper articles, censuses and other primary sources related to Indigenous Peoples of North America. Includes some historic short movies. Citations provided.
Women’s Studies Archive ⚪ This link opens in a new window Documents, photographs, letters, newspaper articles, and other primary sources covering women’s history - the social, political and professional aspects of women’s lives - their roles, experiences, and achievements - from a female perspective. Important historic collections include records from the Malthusian League, Planned Parenthood, the Women’s Missionaries Collection, the Women Pioneers Collection, Women and Law, the Women’s Labour League, The National Women’s History Project, and other feminist-related organizations. The European Women’s Periodicals collection provides access to historic feminist periodicals from Europe. Explore the early days of the movement and see how society has changed - and not - for women.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window Nearly 1.5 million pages of official and unofficial documents, correspondences, publications, photographs, newsletters and archival materials of all types from 1940 to 2014 covering all aspects of LGBTQ history. Includes materials drawn from hundreds of collections from around the world, many in native languages. From the beginnings of the modern rights movement to present. Also collections covering government, societal and medical responses to AIDS.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window Articles and photos illustrating popular culture (art, recreation, politics, music, etc.) through the ages. Citations provided.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Search the archive of National Geographic Magazine (1888-present) and National Geographic’s People, Animals and the World collection, eBooks and National Geographic History Magazine. Some articles available in audio format.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Reference eBooks covering topics in literature, history, science and health, biographies, careers. Several subject-specific encyclopedias included. Citations provided.
Vogue This link opens in a new window A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Literature

Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides full text biographies and literary analysis for more than 90,000 authors from representing various genre and time periods. Includes access to Gale Literary Index.
Salem Press: Literature This link opens in a new window Reference, literary criticism, reviews, interviews, bibliographies of authors and their works. Includes titles such as Magill's, Critical Insights and Critical Surveys. Citations provided.
Book Review Index (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window Index of book reviews and literature-related research articles from thousands of publications. Links to many full-text reviews and articles. Citations provided.

News

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic and minority press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Includes “Ethnic NewsWatch: A History,” which provides access to historical periodicals of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American culture and history from 1959-1989. Many ethnic, religious, and racial minorities are represented. Includes human rights and activism-related articles.
US Major Dailies (Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Access to Chicago Tribune, The New York Times, New York Times Magazine, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and related blogs. Some publications go back to 1985. Usually up to yesterday’s editions available. Some citations provided.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Access to The New York Times from 1851 to the present. Use the TimesMachine to access historical articles. Click on the toolbar on the left-hand side, select "More," and then click on "Tools & Services." Scroll to the bottom to find the TimesMachine.
Arizona Republic This link opens in a new window Full text of Arizona Republic (AZ daily newspaper) from 1999 through present. Citations provided.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full-text of the major daily newspaper from Los Angeles, CA. Also includes Los Angeles Times (Online) and LA Times Blogs.
Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window Your source for online magazines!

Nursing / Health

CINAHL Complete (Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window Contains peer-reviewed journals on nursing and health topics along with practical nursing care advice from professional magazines and evidence-based care sheets. Articles in CINAHL can sometimes be easier to read than those found in PubMed.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Mostly abstracts of articles in the biomedical fields but also includes some access to full-text medical-related articles. Use One Search to determine if PC Library has the full-text of the article.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Articles on the full range of health-related issues. Also access to chapters from books, magazine/news articles, images/audio, and some academic journals. Citations provided.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Formerly called Health Reference Center Academic. Medical and professional journals, health and fitness magazines and reference books. Handy “related resources” links to help expand your research. Citations provided.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Access to hundreds of health and health-related journals covering a wide range of health topics like food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Content is more consumer-oriented and less scientific than others. Citations provided.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Academic articles from many trade and scholarly journals on nursing and allied health topics such as the identification, evaluation and prevention of diseases and disorders; dietary and nutrition services; and rehabilitation and health systems management. Citations provided.
Allied Health Video Collection This link opens in a new window Videos on health care and the profession. Includes topics such as medical technology, medications/pharmacology, patient care, respiratory therapy, surgical technology, and the human body.
JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) This link opens in a new window Full text of the Journal of the American Medical Association, 1998-Present.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window Full text of the New England Journal of Medicine, 1990-Present. Citations provided.

Psychology

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Formally called, "PsycARTICLES." Full-text articles from 77 professional and scholarly psychology journals. Advanced search allows you to limit by population group, age of study participants, and type of methodology used. Citations provided.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window Nearly 575 full text professional journals and other publications related to psychology and behavior, anthropology and more. Much of the content is peer-reviewed. This is a subset of the larger database, Academic Search Premier. Citations provided.
APA PsycArticles + Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Combines searching for APA PsycArticles (formerly PsycARTICLES) and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection. Same time by searching both databases at once!

Science / Technology

Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Easy to search collections of articles from multiple sources. Definitions of a wide variety of science topics from Chemistry, Math, Engineering, Health and Medicine, Physics and Astronomy. Includes biographies of famous contributors to the studies of science. Some video content. Citations provided.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window Serious science. Peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and open access content covering scientific, technical, and medical research. Psychology journals included.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Primarily scientific and peer-reviewed academic articles. Some magazine and newspaper articles and books related to the environment are also included.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Formerly called GREENER. Multimedia presentations of environment-related topics like agriculture, energy, pollution, science and technology, economics, law and politics and more. Topic information is presented via articles, academic journals, government documents, video and podcasts. User-friendly and easy to navigate. Citations provided.
Nature This link opens in a new window Full text access to Nature, a peer-reviewed journal publishing in all fields of science and technology, from 1997 to present.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window Scientific American and Scientific American Mind (two popular science magazines) from the 1800s to present. Use “More to Explore” tool to expand your research.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window Science, a peer-reviewed academic journal, covers all science-related topics in general level presentations and highly-scientific terms. From July 1880 to the present.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Search the archive of National Geographic Magazine (1888-present) and National Geographic’s People, Animals and the World collection, eBooks and National Geographic History Magazine. Some articles available in audio format.