BIO205: Infectious Diseases Resources

This guide has been created for BIO205 students researching infectious diseases. It is a compilation of suggested print and online resources for completing course research assignments.

General Rules for In-Text Citations

In-text citations consist of the last name of the author or authors and the year of publication.

One author: (Walters 2005)
Two authors: (Roe and Smith 1984)
Three or more authors: (Richards et al. 2006)
 

No author: If the author of a work cannot be determined, use the first word or first few words of the title, followed by an ellipsis.

Top fields of study for international students are business and engineering, followed by physical and life sciences, math and computer science, and social sciences (Open . . . 2010).

No date: For sources where the publication year cannot be determined, use [date unknown]:
(Smith [date unknown])

Some content from Penn State University Libraries

In-Text Citation for Images

When including a graphic in your assignment, be sure to cite it in your reference list as well as within your assignment. For an in-text citation of an image, you should include the source of the image/photograph/illustration along with a description written in your own words.  Label your images in order as Fig(ure) 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, etc.



Fig. 1. Blood pressure force to the artery walls (Harding 2004)

In Text Citation

Citing Help

Cite your sources with the help of the Phoenix College Library 

Visit our Citations research guide to:

  • Understand plagiarism.
  • Learn to recognize and avoid plagiarism.
  • Learn citation styles: APA, CSE, MLA.
  • Use online citation tools to simplify the process.
Cite your sources the right way

General Formatting Guidelines

CSE Rules

  • Use the CSE name-year system.
  • No date? Place the words 'date unknown' within square brackets in the in-text reference. Include [date unknown] in the end reference also.  
    • Smith argues that whalefish are among the most mystical of all ocean dwellers (Smith [date unknown]).
    • Smith J. [date unknown]. Creatures of the deep. 5th ed. New York: Oxford Press.
  • Capitalize only the first word of book, chapter titles, or article titles except for proper nouns.  For example: Celiac disease. In: The Gale encyclopedia of science
  • The end of paper citation list should be titled: References
  • Citations in the end of paper reference list should be listed in alphabetical order by author's last name.  Use full last name of author and then initial letters for first and middle name.
  • End of paper citations are not double spaced.
  • Using a hanging indent with the end of paper citations is optional.
  • In-text citations appear in parentheses, and consist of the author(s) last name, as well as the document’s year of publication, for example (Miller 2013).

Article in an Encyclopedia (Single Volume)

Author AA, Author BB, Author CC.  Year.  Title of the article or entry.  In: Title of reference book. Edition.  Place of publication: Publisher Name. p. pages.

                 

Ryan KJ, Ray CG, Sherris JC. 2010. Dermatophytes, Sporothrix, and other superficial and subcutaneous fungi.  In: Sherris medical microbiology. 5th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill. p. 649-657.

Article in Encyclopedia (Multiple Volumes)

Author AA, Author BB. Year. Title of the article or entry.  In: Title of reference book. Edition.  Place of publication: Publisher Name. Volume number, p. page(s).

 

Lerner KL, Lerner BW. 2003. Microorganisms. In: World of microbiology and immunology. Detroit: 
         Gale. Vol. 2, p. 387.

Online Reference Book in Library Database

Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Year. Title of the article or entry.  In: Title of reference book.  Edition.  Place of publication: Publisher; [accessed date you viewed the webpage].  Volume number, p. page(s). Available from Title of Database; hostname URL.

 

Jenkin R. 2008. Gonorrhea. In: Diseases and disorders. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale;
         [accessed 2014 Aug 2]. Vol. 2, p. 384. Available from: Gale eBooks;
         http://link.galegroup.com.

Webpage WITH Author

Author AA, Author BB. Publication or Updated/Revised Date.  Title of webpage. Place of publication: Publisher;
[accessed date you viewed the webpage]. URL.

 

Schubach A, Schubach TMP. 2005 Dec. Cat-transmitted sporotrichosis. Atlanta: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; [accessed 2014 Aug 10]. http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/EID/vol11no12/04-0891.htm.

Webpage WITHOUT Author

Title of webpage.  Publication or Updated/Revised Date.  Place of publication:  Publisher; [accessed date you viewed the webpage].  URL.

 

Adenovirus. 2005 Jan 12. Atlanta: National Center for Infectious Diseases; [accessed 2015 Jan 10]. http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvrd/revb/respiratory/eadfeat.htm.

 

Internet Publication such as Merck Manual online

FORMAT
Author AA, Author BB. Publication or Updated/Revised Date. Section. In: Title of publication. Place of publication: Publisher;  [accessed date you viewed the web publication]. hostname URL.

EXAMPLE

Vergidis P. 2023 Sep. Infectious diseases: fungi: sporotrichosis. In: The Merck manual professional edition. Kenilworth (NJ): Merck & Co.; [accessed 2023 Nov 1]. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional.

Journal Article from Library Database

FORMAT
Author AA, Author BB. Year of publication. Article title. Journal title. [accessed date you viewed the article];Volume number(issue number):page numbers. Available from: Library Database; hostname URL.

EXAMPLE
Carlson M, Redvers N. 2023. Indigenous peoples and cultural safety in public health. Am J Public Health. [accessed 2023 Oct 12];113(10):1059-1063.  Available from: CINAHL Complete; https://search.ebscohost.com.

Journal Title Abbreviations:  In CSE, journal titles may be abbreviated. Use ISI Journal Title Abbreviations to find those abbreviations.

Images

Image from a Website:

FORMAT
Author AA. Publication or Updated/Revised Date. Title of webpage. Place of Publication: Publisher or Sponsoring Organization; [accessed date you viewed the webpage]. URL.

EXAMPLE
Harding J. 2004 Aug 6. Medical encyclopedia: blood pressure. Bethesda (MD): U.S. National Library of Medicine; [accessed 2022 Mar 26]. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/imagepages/9124.htm.

Image of artery walls
In-text Citation/Reference For Image Cited Above:

Fig. 1.  Blood pressure force to the artery walls (Harding 2004)


Image from Online Book in Library Database (Gale eBooks)

FORMAT
Author AA. Year. Title of the article or entry.  In: Title of reference book.  Edition.  Place of publication: Publisher; [accessed date you viewed the webpage].  Volume number, p. page(s). Available from: Title of Database; hostname URL.

EXAMPLE
Alic M, Rocheleau J. 2021. Global cancer incidence and mortality. In: Gale encyclopedia of cancer. 5th ed. Detroit: Gale; [accessed 2023 Jan 26]. Vol. 2, p.952-957. Available from Gale eBooks; https://link.gale.com.

Cancer Statistics by Country
In-text Citation/Reference For Image Cited Above:

Fig. 2. Countries with the highest cancer rates, 2018 (Alic and Rocheleau 2021)

Practice Citations from Class Exercise

Book Examples

 

ebook

Davidson T, Frey RJ. 2011. Cholera. In: The Gale encyclopedia of medicine. 4th ed. Detroit: Gale; [accessed 2015 Feb 9]. Vol. 2, p. 995-998. Available from: Gale eBooks; http://go.galegroup.com.

In text: (Davidson and Frey 2011)

physical book

Salmonella food-borne illness. 2011. In: Encyclopedia of microbiology. New York: Facts On File. p. 691

In text: (Salmonella 2011)

NOTE: If no author is identified, it is acceptable to use the editor's name as an author. Therefore, the above citation could also appear as:

Maczulak AE. 2011. Salmonella food-borne illness. In: Encyclopedia of microbiology. New York: Facts On File. p. 691

In text: (Maczulak 2011)

 

Website Examples

 

no author indicated

Yellow fever prevention. 2007 Dec 5. Atlanta: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; [accessed 2015 Feb 9]. http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvbid/yellowfever/YF_Prevention.html.

In text: (Yellow . . . 2007)

author(s) identified

Vorvick LJ, Vyas JM. 2011 Aug 24. Botulism. Bethesda (MD): U.S. National Library of Medicine; [accessed 2015 Feb 9]. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000598.htm.

In text: (Vorvick and Vyas 2011)