MKT109: Introduction to Fashion Merchandising

This guide was specifically designed for students taking courses in fashion merchandising.

Why cite your sources?

Citing sources adds credibility to your paper. Citing is proof that you did research and that your conclusions are based on reliable information.

It helps you avoid plagiarism by giving credit to the person whose idea and research you are quoting or paraphrasing.

It shares the sources you discovered by presenting information about your sources in a standarized format that any scholar or reader can use to track down the ver same sources you consulted.

Image from Library Database

1940's women's bar suit

Barbieri, Annalisa. "Skirts Around the Point." New Statesman 26 May 2008: 50. MasterFILE Premier. 

Additional Information on Citing

  • If an image is untitled, create a brief descriptive title for the image. Do not italicize your descriptive title or place it in quotes. Capitalize only the first word and any proper nouns.

  • If known, the collection which owns an image should be included in your citation along with its location.

  • URLs are not required but, you may want to provide the complete URL if it will help the reader locate your source. Place the URL in angled brackets after the date accessed and end with a period.

Copyright and Fair Use

When using the Web to gather images, you need to consider copyright issues and how to cite your sources. Fortunately, copyright law allows for the use of some material for certain academic purposes under an exception known as fair use. This exception includes the use of images for class assignments and research papers.

Images from Print Sources

When citing a reproduction of an illustration or photograph found in a print source, include the following information:

Artist's last name, first name. Title of Artwork. Year. Name of institution/private collection housing the work. Title of print

    source. Author's first name last name. Publication city: Publisher, year. Page and or plate number.  

 

Image from a book with no artist's name or title of artwork:

Slingback shoes. Circa 1970. Caroline Cox. Vintage Shoes: Collecting and Wearing Twentieth-Century Designer

     Footwear. New York:HarperCollins, 2008. 155. 

Image from a book with page and plate numbers:

Maywald, Willy. Bar Suit. 1947. Gerde Buxbaum, ed. Icons of Fashion: the 20th Century. New York: Prestel,

     2005. 62/02.

 

Images from Database or Web

As a general rule, the following elements are needed to cite an image from a library database or from the free Web:

Artist's lastname, first name (if known). Title of artwork. Date of original image (if known, or use N.d.). Name of institution or

   collection housing artwork. Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of website. 

 

Image from an image database:

Wedding Suit worn by James II. N.d. The Victorian and Albert Museum. London. ARTstor. 

Image from Web:

Postcard English bathing beauty. 1920. Life photo archive hosted by Google. 

   < http://images.google.com/hosted/life/ddfccdcf42b3af8b.html >.

Image in an article found in a database:

Barbieri, Annalisa. "Skirts Around the Point." New Statesman 26 May 2008: 50. MasterFIle Premier.

Subjects: Business