LibGuides: HUM205: Intro to Cinema: Find Books

Explore the Library Collection (One Search)

Looking for books, videos, or articles? One Search makes it easy to explore everything the library has to offer—all in one place.

The Library has many ebook databases

Credo Reference
Over 3 million articles from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotation sources and atlases. Articles are often very short. “Mind Maps” help with topic exploration. Includes video content.
Gale eBooks
subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics - including director information, film history and film reviews! Easy to search. Citations provided.
eBook Collections (EBSCO)
Large collection of online books covering a wide range of topics including film related topics. Citations provided.

American Cinema of the 1990s: themes and variations
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 A8579 2008
American Cinema of the 2000s: Themes and Variations
Call Number: eBook (available online)

Publication Date: 2012
American Film: A History
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 L46 2008

Publication Date: 2007
The Brothers Grim: the films of Ethan and Joel Coen
Call Number: PN1998.3.C6635 R69 2007

Publication Date: 2007
Rough Guide to American Independent Film
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 W55 2006

Publication Date: 2006
Screen Sirens Scream! Interviews with 20 actresses from science fiction, horror, film noir, and mystery movies, 1930s to 1960s
Call Number: PN1998.2 P375 2000

Books and Media related to Film Studies can be found in the following

Call Number Rages:

PN1993-1999 Film Studies

Call numbers are located on the spine of the book

What are Subject Headings?

Subject headings are a set of terms or phrases that classify library materials.
They are helpful it that they can lead you to all the materials the library has on a given subject.
Most library catalogs and databases use subject headings.

Examples of Subject Headings for Film Studies

Film criticism.

Motion pictures -- Production and direction.

Motion pictures -- History.

You can find subject headings in the One Search.

Once you have searched for an item in the One Search
Click on the subject link(s) to be taken to a list of library materials related to the subject heading