LibGuides: BIO108 Online: Medicinal Plants Research Project: Gale eBooks

Why Use Online Reference Books (ebooks)?

Reference books are a great place to start your research. Here you will find an overview of your topic. Use the reference books suggested on the right to help you choose the medicinal plant you will write about. These sources are easy to use and have lots of great pictures. They have also been written by experts in the field.

All of our electronic reference books are first published in print but we have purchased them in electronic format.

What is Gale eBooks?

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and other reference books. These are real books that were first published in print, but our library purchased them in a digital format. Use the database to search for your topic in one of our online reference books.

Online Library Reference Books (Ebooks through Gale)

Click on the title of a book to open it. Search for your plant within that particular publication OR search the entire Gale eBooks collection at one time.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2012
The set contains over 700 essays on a variety of topics, including acupuncture, aromatherapy, crystal healing, detoxification, herbal medicine, magnet therapy, probiotics, Qigong, traditional Chinese herbal medicine, vegan diets, and vitamins and minerals. The history of both complementary and alternative medicine is included, as are key figures such as Deepak Chopra. Other essays discuss important issues such as alternative versus traditional medicine.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2020
Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.

Schonbeck J. 2020. Bugle weed. In: The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine. 4th ed. Farmington Hills (MI): Gale; [accessed 2025 Jan 9]. Vol. 1, p. 377-379. Available from: Gale eBooks; http://go.galegroup.com.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2021
"Provides authoritative, comprehensive information on all aspects of childrens health, including in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical and cognitive/behavioral development."
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2021
"Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula. Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology"--
Plant Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2001
"Introduces the fundamentals of plant sciences, such as cells, transportation and photosynthesis, and also examines related fields, such as agribusiness, conservation and ethnobotany. Fully illustrated with margin definitions, timelines and sidebars throughout. Academic and general interest."

Tancin CA. 2001. Herbals and herbalists. In: Plant sciences. New York: Macmillan Reference USA; [accessed 2015 Apr 16]. Vol. 3, p. 3-5. Available from: Gale eBooks; http://go.galegroup.com.