Artificial Intelligence

 Consensus - Consensus uses AI to find answers in research papers.  It pulls sources from Semantic Scholar.  The best way to search is to ask a question. For example: What are the benefits of mindfulness?  Consensus provides a summary answer based on their analysis of top papers.  To locate the full-text of the articles, use the PC Library databases or One Search. 

Yes/No questions work particularly well!  To activate the "Consensus Meter," which is based on analyzing a maximum of 20 research papers, ask a Yes/No research question.  For example, Does creatine help build muscle?  Create a free account with Consensus with your email or sign up through Google.  If you have ChatGPT Plus, try out Consensus ResearchGPT!  

 Elicit - Begin by asking Elicit a research question.  Select research papers from Semantic Scholar will be summarized. To locate the full-text of the articles, use the PC Library databases or One Search.  Create a free account with Elicit with your email or sign up through Google.
 

 Humata - Drag and drop a PDF file into Humata.  Then, ask Humata questions about the article to get a quick answer.  Humata will also display the section of the article that answers your question.  Humata will provide sample questions for you, too.  Create a free account with your email.  

One Search (Primo) Research Assistant - Explore academic content in Phoenix College's discovery tool, One Search, by asking questions in natural language. You'll see the sources that were used to generate the answers, which you can click on to read in full-text or request via interlibrary loan.
 

 Perplexity - Ask Perplexity a question to get an answer.  Perplexity will link to real, trustworthy web sources for additional information you can cite in your assignments.   Perplexity will also suggest follow-up questions.  Create a free account with your email or sign up through Google.  

ResearchRabbit - A "research platform that enables you to discover and visualize relevant literature."  You'll see a default Collection titled “Untitled Collection,” which you can rename! To get started, click “Add Papers” and search for papers on your topic.  Then, add the papers to your collection.  Papers are coming from PubMed and Semantic Scholar.  You can continue by asking for similar papers.  Check out the interactive visualization showing connections between the papers or a timeline.  Research Rabbit FAQ. 

 scholarcy - Scholarcy summaries articles to accelerate the reading and learning.  Just upload any document to get a summary and more detailed flashcards.  Create a free account with Consensus with your email or sign up through Google.  The free version permits you to upload three articles a day.  ChatGPT is also a good summarizer for articles and reports you locate on the Internet—prompt ChatGPT with Summarize URL.

SciSpace - SciSpace can help you understand research papers better.  You can begin by asking a research question.  You'll get a summary answer and a list of academic papers with summary insights.  Many of the articles are open-access.  Use the PC Library databases or One Search to locate articles that are not open access.  You can also upload a PDF, highlight portions of the text, and SciSpace's Copilot will explain the text.  Log into SciSpace with your email or via Google.