LibGuides: AIS213/REL203: American Indian Religions : Getting Started

Required Resources for this Class

Broken Treaty at Battle Mountain
Call Number: E99.S4 B765 2000
The Sacred by Peggy V. Beck; Anna L. Walters
Call Number: On Reserve for AIS213

Selected Periodicals

Librarian

Analicia Chavez

Email Me

Contact:

Office: L-212
Email: Analicia.chavez@phoenixcollege.edu

602.285.7361

Need Writing Help?

For writing assistance, check out the services provided by Learning Commons.

This guide will help you complete your assignments for AIS213 / REL203.

Use the menu on the left to navigate this guide.

Hopi-Tewa Plaza Dance

Painting of a Hopi-Tewa Plaza Dance by Raymond Naha (1933-1975)

Recommended Library Resources for this Class

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of streaming video, most with educational content and transcripts. More academic-leaning than other PC Library video databases. Worth digging into. Citations provided.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Histories and contemporary cultures of American Indians.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million articles from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotation sources and atlases. Articles are often very short. “Mind Maps” help with topic exploration. Includes video content.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic and minority press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Includes “Ethnic NewsWatch: A History,” which provides access to historical periodicals of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American culture and history from 1959-1989. Many ethnic, religious, and racial minorities are represented. Includes human rights and activism-related articles.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 32,000 videos from multiple producers, including Frontline, HBO, Inside Science, Ken Burns, and BBC. Wide variety of topics, some science and education-related, others are of general interest. Some videos include transcripts.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference sources covering a variety of subjects, including biography, business, education, fashion, law, history, medicine, science, and social science.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Content from history periodicals including primary sources, photos, maps, videos, and biographies. Works are divided into two main categories: US History and World History. A great place to dig deep into historical topics. Citations provided.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Instructor recommended database containing full text journal articles from leading academic sources.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Search the archive of National Geographic Magazine (1888-present) and National Geographic’s People, Animals and the World collection, eBooks and National Geographic History Magazine. Some articles available in audio format.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, primary sources, biographies, streaming audio and video, and news cover a variety of historical topics, people and places related to US History. Citations provided.