Scholarly publications (usually books and journal articles) are an important source for credible information in most fields. The PC Library Databases are good resources to find scholarly and popular sources in your field. Below are a few databases that cover many different disciplines, but you can view the full list of databases here.
Sometimes it can be a challenge to locate the leading professional organizations in your field. Try these tips to narrow your search:
When you find a source that addresses your topic, consider using these four steps (S.I.F.T.) to establish credibility and context. The first two steps will help you better understand the authority of the source, while the second two steps will help you situate the source in a broader conversation. Following these steps will engage you in "lateral reading"--learning about a source you're reading as you read it. By utilizing these S.I.F.T. steps, you will also find additional sources that may be important to the conversation about your topic.
1. Stop!
Do you know the source?
Do you trust the source?
What is their reputation?
Even if you know a source and trust it for credible information, it is important to understand and acknowledge its reputation and any potential biases.
2. Investigate
Who are the author(s) and publisher?
What is their expertise?
What is their agenda/purpose?
This step will help to establish the authority/expertise/credibility of a source. A simple internet search of the author and/or publication is usually enough to find helpful information to determine the scope of their expertise and their agenda/purpose. Be sure to look at sites other than that of the source itself.
3. Find other sources
Can you verify claims made in the source?
Can you find other sources that support the viewpoint?
Does there seem to be consensus or controversy about the topic?
By finding other sources on the topic, you will engage with other perspectives and voices within the conversation. This will put your source in a broader context.
4. Track
What evidence does the source provide for its claims?
Can you track down the original source (perhaps a study or survey or report)?
Does the evidence change when seen in the original source and context?
Sometimes a source will cite evidence, but dramatically misrepresent its meaning. By looking at the original, you can better decide the strength of the evidence and the conclusions made from it.
Caulfield, Mike. "SIFT (The Four Moves)." Hapgood, 19 June, 2019, //hapgood.us/2019/06/19/sift-the-four-moves/ .
Use Journal Finder to check to see if a periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper) is available at the Phoenix College Library. Typically, the Journal Finder will list the database(s) that contains the full-text articles of the periodical. Click on the database name to link directly to the periodical in that database.
