EDU221: Introduction to Education

Education resources grouped by topic areas that match the course syllabus.

Finding Articles on Issues in Education

Reading articles that have been published in education journals and magazines is an excellent way to keep up with current issues in education. 

SEARCH by topic in Education Full-Text, a database of full-text articles in education.

SEARCH by topic in ERIC, a large database to education articles and documents.  Not all of the articles are available in full-text.

Or, BROWSE current issues of Education Week, a popular education magazine for teachers.

Streaming Videos

eBooks

Library Databases

Library databases work a lot like Netflix or Spotify - they help you find specific types of content. Just like Netflix organizes movies and Spotify sorts music, databases focus on sources like articles, newspapers, and journals.

Here are some of the databases the PC Library subscribes to that you can use to help you find more information on legal and ethical issues in education.

Trending research topics in education

American Educational Research Association

 

Trending research topics from the American Educational Research Association:

  • Bullying Prevention and School Safety - Bullying presents one of the greatest health risks to children, youth, and young adults in U.S. society today. School safety, including the prevention is bullying, is a top national priority and a key area of academic research.
  • Common Core State Standards - The Common Core State Standards, released in 2010 for English language arts and mathematics, have been adopted by 45 states and the District of Columbia. 
  • Early Education - Early education, including preschool, prekindergarten,  and programs such as Head Start, is a robust area of education research.
  • Financial Aid - Research supports the notion that financial aid can influence students’ postsecondary opportunities, decisions, and outcomes, but questions remain about the impact and optimal design of financial aid programs and policies.
  • LGBTQ+ - Recent legal, social, and policy shifts in support of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LBGTQ) people are causing educators and education researchers to address LGBTQ issues with a new sense of legitimacy and urgency.
  • Opportunity Gaps - Opportunity gaps demonstrating differences in academic performance between students of different genders, races, and income levels are prevalent in school districts across the country.  
  • Social Emotional Learning - School leaders are increasingly focused on students' social-emotional learning skills—such as self- and social awareness, relationship skills, decision making, and self-management—to enhance their overall academic performance.
  • School Choice - Programs that offer students and their parents options to local public schools – including vouchers, charter schools, magnet schools, and open enrollment – are increasingly common and hotly debated.
  • Value Added Models - Over the past decade, the use of value‐added models (VAM) in teacher and administrator evaluation has grown nationally, while becoming one of education’s most controversial issues. 
Subjects: Education