EDU221: Introduction to Education

Education resources grouped by topic areas that match the course syllabus.

APA: General Formatting Rules

GENERAL [Rules 2.19-2.22]
  • Your paper must be typed and double-spaced, with 1″ margins on all sides.
  • Use one consistent font throughout your paper.
  • APA-approved fonts include: 11-pt Calibri or 12-pt Times New Roman.
  • Include a properly formatted title page. See APA’s Student Title Page Guide.
CAPITALIZATION [Rules 6.16-6.17]
  • Title Case: For works cited within the text, capitalize the first word and all major words.
  • Sentence Case: In references, capitalize only the first word of the title/subtitle and proper nouns.
  • Diseases, Disorders, Theories: Lowercase unless a proper name is included (e.g., non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma).
ITALICS [Rules 6.22-6.23]

Italicize titles of: books, films, ebooks, newspapers, magazines, journals, websites, technical reports, and works of art.

In-Text Example:

In the book, Hope for the Heated Planet, the author states that...

DOUBLE QUOTATION MARKS [Rule 6.7]

Use quotation marks for titles of: journal articles, book chapters, newspaper or magazine articles, blog posts, webpages, encyclopedia entries, dictionary entries, and songs.

In-Text Example:

In the song, "Imagine," John Lennon asks the listener to...

Parenthetical: ("Imagine")

APA Quick Summary

📝
Format: Double-spaced, 1" margins.
🔤
Fonts: 11-pt Calibri or 12-pt Times New Roman.
📄
Title Page: See APA’s Student Guide.
🔠
Capitalize: Title Case in text; Sentence Case in references.
📚
Italics: Books, journals, films, reports, websites, art.
💬
Quotes: Articles, chapters, webpages, entries, songs.

Book & eBook Citation Formats

Try this! APA’s Quick Reference Guide shows in detail how to cite a book.
Also see the APA Style Guide for additional Book/Ebook Reference examples.
1

Book/eBook with Author

Last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year of Publication). Title of work: Subtitle, if applicable (edition if applicable, Volume if applicable). Publisher. DOI for ebook*

Bocking, S. (2017). Ecologists and environmental politics: A history of contemporary ecology (2nd ed.). West Virginia University Press

Parenthetical: (Bocking, 2017)

Zaretsky, N. (2018). Radiation nation: Three Mile Island and the political transformation of the 1970s. Columbia University Press.

Parenthetical: (Zaretsky, 2018)
2

Book/eBook with Editor, No Author

Last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Ed.) (Year of Publication). Title of work: Subtitle, if applicable (edition if applicable, Volume if applicable). Publisher. DOI for ebook*

Fiese, B. H., Celano, M., Deater-Deckard, K., Jouriles, E. N., & Whisman, M. A. (Eds.). (2019). APA handbook of contemporary family psychology: Foundations, methods, and contemporary issues across the lifespan (Vol. 1). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000099

Parenthetical: (Fiese et al., 2019)
3

Book/eBook with Editor and Author

Last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year of Publication). Title of work: Subtitle, if applicable (edition if applicable, Volume if applicable). (First initial. Middle initial. Last name, Ed.). Publisher. DOI for ebook*

Carroll, M. P. (1996). Myth. In D. Levinson & M. Ember (Eds.), Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology (Vol. 3, pp. 827-831). Henry Holt and Company.

* The DOI is preferred over the URL for eBooks. However, eBooks in PC Library databases typically do not display a DOI. For eBooks from databases, do not include a database name. Instead, just omit the DOI. This rule is for books, book chapters, and journal articles.

Chapters/Entries in Books/Encyclopedias 

Try this!  APA's Quick Reference Guide shows in detail how to cite a chapter in a book with an editor.
FORMAT [Rule 10.3]

Last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year of Publication). Title of chapter or entry. In First initial. Middle initial. Last name (Ed. or Eds.), Title of work: Subtitle, if applicable, with only its first letter capitalized (edition if applicable, Volume if applicable*, pp. number range). Publisher. DOI for ebook**

* Volumes are often numbered, but untitled, as in the last example below (Skinner, 2011). If, however, the Volume has a title, include both the Vol. # and its title in italics at the end of the title and subtitle of the book, as in the first example below (Cochran, 2019).
** The DOI is preferred over the URL for eBooks. However, eBooks in PC Library databases do not usually show a DOI. For eBooks from databases, do not include a database name. Instead, just omit the DOI. This rule is for books, book chapters, and journal articles.
EXAMPLES
1

Chapter in an Edited Encyclopedia (Titled Volume)

Cochran, K. A. (2019). Tragedy of the commons. In R. Renneboog (Ed.), Encyclopedia of environmental issues: Vol. 4. R to Z; Appendixes (3rd ed., pp. 1234-1235). Salem Press.

Parenthetical: (Cochran, 2019)
2

Chapter in a Reference Book

Foster, S., & Johnson, R. L. (2006). Aloe vera. In Desk reference to nature's medicine (pp. 23-25). National Geographic Society.

Parenthetical: (Foster & Johnson, 2006)
3

Chapter in an APA Handbook (with DOI)

Leerkes, E. M., & Qu, J. (2019). Families with infants and young children. In B. H. Fiese, M. Celano, K. Deater-Deckard, E. N. Jouriles, & M. A. Whisman (Eds.), APA handbook of contemporary family psychology: Foundations, methods, and contemporary issues across the lifespan (pp. 575–591). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000099-032

Parenthetical: (Leerkes & Qu, 2019)
4

Chapter in a Multi-Volume Encyclopedia

Skinner, P. (2011). Flower remedies. In L. J. Fundukian (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (4th ed., Vol. 3, pp. 1750-1753). Thompson Gale.

Parenthetical: (Skinner, 2011)

Articles (Including Library Databases)

Try this! A helpful resource for citing journal articles is APA’s Quick Reference Guide.
1

Scholarly Article

FORMAT [Rule 10.1]

Author(s). (Date). Article title. Journal Title, Volume(issue), Page Numbers. DOI*

EXAMPLES

Anonymous. (2018). Iran disillusioned. Survival, 60(2), 231–236. https://doi.org/10.1080/00396338.2018.1448598

Parenthetical: (Anonymous, 2018)

De Jong, M. G. G., Seijmonsbergens, A. C., & De Graaff, L. W. S. (2019). In search of stratigraphic subdivision of the period 8-0 ka in Greenland ice cores. Polish Polar Research, 40(2), 55–77. https://doi.org/10.24425/ppr.2019.128367

Parenthetical: (De Jong et al., 2019)

Schindler, M., Engel, S., & Rupprecht, R. (2012). The impact of perceived knowledge of dementia on caregiver burden. Geropsych: The Journal of Gerontopsychology and Geriatric Psychiatry, 25(3), 127-134. https://doi.org/10.1024/1662-9647/a000062

Parenthetical: (Schindler & Rupprecht, 2012)
* The examples above are for scholarly journal articles with DOIs.  Not all articles have a DOI assigned to them.
2

Magazine Article

FORMAT

Author(s). (Date). Article title. Magazine Title, Volume(issue), Page Numbers. DOI or URL*

EXAMPLES

Drew, L. (2014, January 11). Down with dementia. New Scientist, 221(2951), 32–35. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0262-4079(14)60088-9

Parenthetical: (Drew, 2014)

Parker, L., Daly, N., & Royte, E. (2018, June). Plastic. National Geographic, 233(6), 40.

Parenthetical: (Parker et al., 2018)
* The first example above (Drew, 2014) is for a magazine article that had a volume and issue assigned.  Not all magazine articles have a volume and issue.
3

Newspaper Article

FORMAT

Author(s). (Date). Article title. Newspaper Title. URL*

EXAMPLES

Maidenberg, M., & Ziobro, P. (2019, Nov 27). UPS workers arrested in drug shipping bust; police say Tucson, Ariz., ring moved bulk amounts of drugs through shipping giant; 50,000 THC vape pens seized. Wall Street Journal (Online). https://www.wsj.com/articles/ups-workers-arrested-in-drug-shipping-bust-11574896107

Parenthetical: (Maidenberg & Ziobro, 2019)

Wasted lessons from Afghanistan [Editorial]. (2019, Dec 11). New York Times.

Parenthetical: ("Wasted Lessons from Afghanistan," 2019)
* If the newspaper article is from a PC Library database, omit the URL.  For newspapers from websites, such as the first example below, include the URL.  

Webpages

Try this! See APA’s official webpage examples: APA webpage examples.

Webpage

Author, Institution, or Organization Responsible for the Website (if available). (Year, Month Day website was last updated). Title or description of page. Title of website [if different from page title]. URL

Retrieval Date: Use only for a webpage whose contents are likely to change over time. See the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine citation below for an example on how to write out a retrieval date.

1

Webpage

Amaranth Farm. (2019, September 26). Notes on holistic orcharding. Amaranth Farm. https://amaranthfarmnh.blogspot.com/2019/09/holistic-orcaharding-was-not.html

Parenthetical: (Amaranth Farm, 2019)

2

Aloe vera

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine. (2016, November 29). Aloe vera. Health Information. Retrieved March 16, 2017, from http://nccam.nih.gov/health/aloevera

Parenthetical: (National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine [NCCAM], 2006)

Thereafter, abbreviate to: (NCCAM, 2006)

Motion Pictures & Videos

FORMAT [Rule 10.14]

Director, D. D. (Director). (Date of publication). Title of motion picture [description, for example: Film, Video, TV series, or Webinar]. Studio or distributor.

If the director is not identified, use instead: Producer, P. P. (Executive Producer). — or — Host, H. H. (Host). — or — Artist, A. A. (Artist). — or — Uploader, U. U. (Uploader).
EXAMPLES
1

Feature Film

Chazelle, D. (Director). (2019). First man [Film]. Universal Pictures Home Entertainment.

Parenthetical: (Chazelle, 2019)

2

Documentary Film

Galan, H. (Producer). (2007). Chicano!: The history of the Mexican American civil rights [Film]. United States: National Latino Communications Center.

Parenthetical: (Galan, 2007)

3

YouTube Video

McCune, B. (Uploader). (2009, November 8). A history of Phoenix College [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WeZ-gP4Xpd0

Parenthetical: (McCune, 2009)

Images

FORMAT [Rule 10.14]

Artist, A. A. (Year or years image was created). Title of work [Type of work]. URL

EXAMPLES
1

Photograph

Parenthetical: (Hemming, 1940)

Hemming, R. (1940). Group of children sitting on wooden bench [Photograph]. http://memory.loc.gov

2

Painting

Parenthetical: (“Japanese geisha with umbrella,” 1925)

Japanese geisha with umbrella [Painting]. (1925). http://fineartamerica.com/art/paintings/japanese

3

Sculpture

Parenthetical: (Scholder, 1994)

Scholder, F. (1994). Another martyr No. 4 [Sculpture].

Drug Database

FORMAT [APA Blog: “Clinical Practice References”]

Company name. (Year, Month Day last updated). Title of section. In Name of database. URL

EXAMPLE
1

Diazepam monograph

Lexicomp. (2022, Jan 6). Diazepam. In Lexicomp for Dentistry. https://online.lexi.com

Parenthetical: (Lexicomp, 2022)

Generative AI Example

FORMAT

Author/Company. (Year). Title of model or page (version) [Model type]. URL

EXAMPLE

[Example from APA blog post, “How to cite ChatGPT”]

Subjects: Education