Click on the TITLE of the video to watch the entire video or select a specific segment(s).
The Common School: 1770–1890 (55:00)
As American as Public School: 1900–1950 (55:00)
A collection of eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. Browse eBooks for quick research and reference or check them out and read them at your leisure. How to Download EBSCO eBooks
Click the TITLE of the book to access the full-text online version.
American Decades (2001) - 10 volume set for decades starting with 1900. Each volume contains an EDUCATION chapter.
Encyclopedia of Education (2002) - Background information on historical topics, such as the history of compulsory school attendance, elementary education, middle schools, multicultural education, school financing, secondary education, special education, supervision, teacher evaluations, and textbooks. Search for historic figures, too, such as Horace Mann.
Historical Dictionary of American Education (1999)
Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation: The American Experience - Includes information on landmark court cases.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: A Reference Guide (1999) - Use the INDEX to locate cases related to education. Use the "Go to page #" to jump directly to the case.
Latinos and American Law: Landmark Supreme Court Cases (2006) - Use the INDEX to locate cases related to education. Use the "Go to page #" to jump directly to the case.
World Education Encyclopedia - Consult the entry "United States" for the history of education from the 1600s to modern day.
Enter your keywords directly in the search boxes below to locate background information in encyclopedias and dictionaries from Credo Reference and Gale eBooks.
