LibGuides: EDU291: Children's Literature (Valdivia): Finding Books

PC Library Databases that Relate to Children's Literature

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formally called "Gale Virtual Reference Library." Ebooks, subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics organized into a variety of subjects including business, education, environment, medicine, mythology, science, and technology. Easy to search. Citations provided.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text biographies and literary analysis for more than 90,000 authors from representing various genre and time periods. Includes access to Gale Literary Index.

Finding Books at the PC Library

Use the One Search box to search for books and media in the PC library collection.

Consider using one or more of these tips to find children's literature:

Use multiple keywords - consider what you are looking for and use essential keywords in your search. For example, if you need a myth from a different culture, you might consider searching "myth" AND "children's literature" AND "greek."
Use subject terms - you can search for books that are categorized under specific subject headings. For example, "Caldecott" books or "childrens literature" or "biography" are all examples of subject terms that will limit your results to books that fit that category.
Use One Search filters - on the left-side column, One Search provides a number of filters to modify and focus your search. For example, you may limit to "Fully Available Online" and "Book/eBook" so that your results are just ebooks that you may access online.

When you find a book that you would like to check out, request the title by placing it on hold. You will need your MEID and password to log in and place a hold. Generally, the book will be available to pick up in the PC Library lobby the next day.

Additional Resources

The Phoenix Public Library - the public library is a great resource for children's literature. Search the catalog online and request titles (they offer curbside pick up service). Need a public library card? You can get an e-card online.

The Library of Congress Digital Collection - the collection includes digital versions of general and rare book children's titles. Select "Collection Items" to see a full list of titles.

The Horn Book - a leading organization in children's literature, Horn publishes a magazine and book lists to help with the selection of quality children's literature. The website includes several useful resources, including book reviews, ideas for how to use children's literature for education, and interviews with authors.

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature - A-Z guide to topical articles related to children's literature.

Children's Literature in Education (Academic Journal) - Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.

International Children's Digital Library - The ICDL Foundation promotes tolerance and respect for diverse cultures by providing access to the best of children's literature from around the world.

Books About Children's Literature

Children's and YA Books in the College Classroom by Emily Dial-Driver (Editor); Jim Ford (Editor); Sara N. Beam (Editor)
Call Number: PN1009.A1 C498 2015
Describes how to use such as Where the Wild Things Are, The Tale of Peter Rabbit, Swamp Thing, Percy Jackson, and Harry Potter to introduce complex concepts and spark interest in difficult subjects. The contributors describe innovative teaching strategies using dystopian fiction, graphic narratives, fairy tales and mythology. - Description from Syndetics
Children's Literature by Seth Lerer
Call Number: PN1009.A1 L44 2008
Charts the makings of the Western literary imagination from Aesop s fables to Mother Goose, from "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" to Peter Pan, from "Where the Wild Things Are "to Harry Potter. Captures the rich and diverse history of children s literature in its full panorama. - Description from Syndetics
Connecting Boys with Books 2 by Michael Sullivan
Call Number: Z1039.B67 S85 2009
Everything I Need to Know I Learned from a Children's Book by Anita Silvey (Editor)
Call Number: PN1009.A1 E82 2009
"What children's book changed the way you see the world?" Anita Silvey asked this question to more than one hundred of our most respected and admired leaders in society, and she learned about the books that shaped financiers, actors, singers, athletes, activists, artists, comic book creators, novelists, illustrators, teachers... With its full color excerpts of beloved children's books, this book is a treasury and a guide. - Description from Syndetics
Wonderfully Wordless by William Patrick Martin
Call Number: Z1033.P52 M36 2015
The ultimate guide to wordless and almost wordless books. Its 500 exemplary titles are a composite of 140 sources including recommendations from reference books, award lists, book reviews, professional journals, literary blogs, and the collections of many of the most prominent libraries in the US. Organized by theme and format and readers should have no problem zeroing in on their favorite topics. - Description from Syndetics