For effective and efficient research, it is important to have a plan or process to decide what information you need, where to look, and how to search. This brief video will help you to create a research strategy for your project.
Searching library databases is a great way to locate resources for this class. PC Library databases include scholarly articles, images, eBooks, videos, and articles from popular magazines.
A vast collection of online books covering a wide range of topics including children’s and adult fiction, non-fiction, biographies, business, computer science, cooking, crafts, education, engineering, humor, law, literature and criticism, law, mathematics, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, self-help, social sciences, sports and games, study aids, language learning, travel, true crime. Citations provided.
Peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, art, and primary source research. While the publication dates tend to be a little older, this is one of the best databases at PC for topics in humanities, literature, and psychology. Some content requires creating a (free) account or logging in with your Google account. Citations provided. (Looking for ARTstor? It's now part of JSTOR too!)
Articles and photos illustrating popular culture (art, recreation, politics, music, etc.) through the ages. Citations provided.
Formally called "Gale Virtual Reference Library." Ebooks, subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics organized into a variety of subjects including business, education, environment, medicine, mythology, science, and technology. Easy to search. Citations provided.
Academic journals, primary sources, biographies, streaming audio and video, and news cover a variety of historical topics, people and places related to World History. Citations provided.
Not sure where to start - use ONE SEARCH to search all library databases at the same time!
JSTOR (formerly ArtStor) is a premium database for finding images and information about works of art - including fashion. You can tailor your search based on time period to find images and artifacts throughout history. Use the images tab to search!
(Note: sometimes JSTOR will not load correctly due to an issue with permissions. If it is not loading a result page, you can open it in an incognito window by holding down the following keys: CTRL+SHIFT+N and log in using your MEID and password.)
Peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, art, and primary source research. While the publication dates tend to be a little older, this is one of the best databases at PC for topics in humanities, literature, and psychology. Some content requires creating a (free) account or logging in with your Google account. Citations provided. (Looking for ARTstor? It's now part of JSTOR too!)
