Use One Search to search for a topic that interests you. Use the filters on the left column to answer the following questions:
Google Scholar searches the same kind of articles, books, and other scholarly literature that you would find using the library's databases. It can be a great place to start your research and is useful for:
Keep in mind that while searching in Google Scholar is convenient and can be a great starting point, it's likely that you'll need to use One Search or individual databases to find more appropriate content for a community college student and better search features.
Sometimes it can be a challenge to locate the leading professional organizations in your field. Try these tips to narrow your search:
OneSearch is a search tool that can be a great place to start your search for journal articles, books, and almost everything else the library has in our collection. Using this tool makes it easy to find the resources you need. Try it yourself by entering your search terms in the OneSearch box and clicking Search:
You can also choose to search individual databases instead. Searching a specific database will provide you with different options to narrow your search that are not available in OneSearch. You will also have fewer unrelated results to sort through. Listed below are some of the databases the PC Library has in our collection.
Scholarly publications (usually books and journal articles) are an important source for credible information in most fields. The PC Library Databases are good resources to find scholarly and popular sources in your field. Below are a few databases that cover many different disciplines, but you can view the full list of databases here.
Peer-reviewed scholarly journals and magazines related to science, social sciences and humanities. Easy search tools help you find images, videos, news, and books too! Audio files often included. APA and MLA citations provided.
Full-text magazines, journals, and other resources most of which are peer-reviewed. Wide range of subjects. A great place to start most research projects. Images and videos accompany most topics. Citations provided.
Peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, art, and primary source research. While the publication dates tend to be a little older, this is one of the best databases at PC for topics in humanities, literature, and psychology. Some content requires creating a (free) account or logging in with your Google account. Citations provided. (Looking for ARTstor? It's now part of JSTOR too!)
Formally called "Gale Virtual Reference Library." Ebooks, subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, and contemporary topics organized into a variety of subjects including business, education, environment, medicine, mythology, science, and technology. Easy to search. Citations provided.
A vast collection of online books covering a wide range of topics including children’s and adult fiction, non-fiction, biographies, business, computer science, cooking, crafts, education, engineering, humor, law, literature and criticism, law, mathematics, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, self-help, social sciences, sports and games, study aids, language learning, travel, true crime. Citations provided.
Get an overview of your issue. Read the “Pro” and “Con” positions in Viewpoints to support your research. Many topics are covered. Articles and essays include newspaper and magazine articles, statistics, maps, videos, history and more. Easy to navigate. Citations provided.
Use Journal Finder to check to see if a periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper) is available at the Phoenix College Library. Typically, the Journal Finder will list the database(s) that contains the full-text articles of the periodical. Click on the database name to link directly to the periodical in that database.
