LibGuides: TEC125: Fashion Design (Ellis): Milestone B: Presenting Research

Finding Images through JSTOR

JSTOR (formerly ArtStor) is a premium database for finding images and information about works of art - including fashion. You can tailor your search based on time period to find images and artifacts throughout history. Use the images tab to search!

(Note: sometimes JSTOR will not load correctly due to an issue with permissions. If it is not loading a result page, you can open it in an incognito window by holding down the following keys: CTRL+SHIFT+N and log in using your MEID and password.)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, ebooks, art, and primary source research. While the publication dates tend to be a little older, this is one of the best databases at PC for topics in humanities, literature, and psychology. Some content requires creating a (free) account or logging in with your Google account. Citations provided. (Looking for ARTstor? It's now part of JSTOR too!)

Museum & Private Collections

Kyoto Costume Institute, Japan
KCI's collection currently ranges from the 17th century to the present day, with holdings of 12,000 items of clothing and 16,000 documents.
The Museum at FIT, New York
The mission of the Museum is to advance knowledge of fashion through exhibitions, programs and publications. The museums permanent collection encompasses some 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.
FIT SPARC Digital Collection
The digital collections of the FIT Library's Special Collections and College Archives.
New York Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections
Selections from the permanent collection
The Met Costume Institute Collection
This collection contains ephemeral and archival collections from the Institute and its Irene Lewisohn Costume Institute Library, with subsets highlighting fashion plates, sketches, and exhibition binders.
New York Public Library Andre Studio Collection
Fashion drawings & sketches (1930-1941) in the collections of FIT and the New York Public Library
Victoria and Albert Museum
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collections
Europeana Fashion
Historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos – from more than 30 European public and private institutions (from website)
Fashion2Fiber (Ohio State Univ)
A resource for scholarly and artistic resources for textiles material culture.
Gazette du bon ton (Smithsonian Collection)
Gazette du bon ton issues from 1912-1922.
Los Angeles Public Library Fashion Plates
Over 6,200 hand-colored, finely detailed fashion illustrations produced between 1780 and 1880 for British and American fashion magazines. The plates depict fashionable styles of dress for men, women and children, and constitute valuable source material on the history of dress during this period in history.

Creating Your Presentation

The videos below offer ideas and tips for making your PowerPoint presentation clear, effective, and visually appealing.